The Floating Bow

John Doherty


Twenty-five tracks of the great Donegal fiddler from the 1960s and the 1970s. These recordings were made when John was at his musical best and are some of the most important fiddle tracks in the Irish tradition. They are accompanied by extensive learned notes by Alun Evans and Dermot McLaughlin.


1. The Spirits of Wine & Madame Bonaparte

2. The Farther in the Deeper

3. An Chúilfhionn (The Coolin) & The Flogging Reel

4. Drops of Brandy

5. Miss Patterson's Slipper

6. The Day I Listed & The Fantastic Reel

7. Willie McLennan's

8. The Lancers Jig & Gusty's Frolics

9. Tom Tailor's

10. Scots Mary

11. The Sligo Maid's Lament & Hand Me Down the Tackle

12. The Enniskillen Dragoons, Nóra Críonna & Píobaire an Chéideadh (The Keady Piper)

13. The Cemeronian

14. Dúlamann na Binne Buí

15. Within a Mile of Dublin & Old Simon's Hornpipe

16. The Glenconwell Hornpipe

17. The Mint in the Corn

18. The Highlanders and The Wind that shakes the Barley

19. Seán sa Cheo (Seán in the Fog)

20. King George IV

21. The Lancers Jig & The Silver Slipper

22. The Mountain Road

23. The Braes of Mass

24. Bonnie Kate

25. Maidin Fhómhair (One Harvest Morning) & Miss McLeod


Produced by Dermot McLaughlin.

Mastered by Mary Kettle, Trend Studios, Dublin.